Search This Blog

Thursday, December 9, 2010

Artichoke Hearts with Chicken

Brown 1 1/2 pound boneless chicken thighs (remove skin if you're watching cholesterol) over medium heat for about 10 minutes.  Add 4 minced garlic cloves, 1 tbl fresh minced oregano, & 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper.  Stir and cook a couple of minutes.  Add 1/4 cup vinegar.  Stir together brownies, seasonings, and liquid.  Add 2 cups water, 1 red bell pepper, seeded and cut in 1/2 inch strips, and 1 package (10 ounces) frozen artichoke hearts, thawed and halved.  Simmer until tender and liquid thickened, 5 to 10 more minutes.  Remove from heat and if you can eat a little goat cheese, serve with goat feta.

Is Vinegar Gluten Free?
(Article from

"Is vinegar safe to eat for people with Celiac Disease?  The answer is yes...for the most part!  Like most ingredients, vinegar is naturally gluten free, as the gluten it is made with is lost in the distillation process (just like alcohol)."  Here is what Dr. Stephen Wangen says:

"Other vinegars, such as red wine vinegar, apple cider vinegar, and balsamic vinegar also do not contain gluten.  They are not derived from a gluten grain, therefore they never had gluten to begin with.

The primary exception to all of this is malt vinegar.  "Malt" can almost always be assumed to mean 'barley malt.'  Barley is of course a gluten grain, and malt vinegar is generally not a distilled vinegar.  Therefore there is gluten in malt vinegar.  The other exception is when malt has been added into something after it has been distilled.  This is sometimes the case with hard alcohols, but you have to check with the manufacturer."

No comments:

Post a Comment